Connect with us

News

What Security Features Appeared in iOS 14

Published

on

What Security Features Appeared in iOS 14

Apple has always paid great attention to security. Therefore, all prohibitions and restrictions were perceived by users of branded devices for granted. Can’t download software not from the App Store? This is a precaution. Can’t pay for purchases using third-party services? This is for our own good. Can’t I change regular applications to third-party ones? Oh, that’s it. This is how dialogs were built between blinded fans and critical-thinking users. But if the former were happy with everything, then because of the second Apple had to abandon a number of restrictions and at the same time increase the level of protection.

IOS 14 introduces many new security features
IOS 14 introduces many new security features

How to find out that the application is recording you

Despite the fact that it is difficult to get into malicious software in the App Store, from time to time such applications entered the catalog. They could set up surveillance for users by recording them or filming them on video. Some of them probably did this not intentionally, but simply under the influence of system bugs, which, however, did not cancel the fact of surveillance itself. Therefore, Cupertino decided to build a special indicator in iOS that will notify you of audio or video recordings.

This indicator will appear if the application starts recording you.
This indicator will appear if the application starts recording you.

The indicator is fully programmatic, although it looks very natural, in no way inferior to the LED bulbs that many manufacturers equip their smartphones with. It will appear at a time when an application starts to record audio or video in the background. In this case, the user will be able to recognize surveillance in time and prevent it before the program collects any valuable data.

How to find out that the application saves your data

Surveillance can optionally be in the form of audio or video recordings in secret from the user. Practice shows that many applications can collect information in a different format. For example, in text. Therefore, they simply copy all the text data that the user enters, and then send them remotely to the developer server. It is hard to say what goal they are pursuing, but it is pointless to say that this is not happening.

iOS 14 will notify if the application will copy your data
iOS 14 will notify if the application will copy your data

iOS 14 introduced a special mechanism that warns that the application copies the text you entered. It would seem that a very useful feature that can protect, for example, from theft of logins and passwords. But this is in theory. In practice, such a mechanism can, firstly, interfere with the user with its notifications, and, secondly, it is unable to impede copying, and only performs the function of a notifier. Therefore, most likely, most of it will simply be turned off.

Permissions in iOS 14

The permission system in iOS has been around for a very long time. It will allow users to independently decide which sensors or system functions can be granted access and which cannot. Thus, for example, you can forbid Instagram to record sound that it at one time was quite actively fishing. But in iOS 14, Apple went even further.

Applications can only be granted access to specific photos.
Applications can only be granted access to specific photos.

Apple has expanded the work of restrictive mechanisms related to providing applications access to the full-time gallery with photos. If earlier, upon request, the program opened the entire library of pictures and videos stored in the device’s memory, now you can select specific photos or videos, allowing the application to access only them and nothing else.

Location Services on iOS

Access to geolocation services is a prerequisite for the proper functioning of many applications. Even if they do not really need information about your location, they will almost certainly request it. Of course, some users don’t like this horror. Still, to provide, to everyone, information about your presence may be unsafe. It’s good that Cupertino also finally understood this.

Do not want to share your exact location? You can share an approximate
Don’t want to share your exact location? You can share an approximate

iOS 14 will allow users to share only the approximate location without specifying an exact address. Apparently, the geolocation summary will be limited only to the city or the name of the area in which the user is located. As a result, the application will not be able to refuse to function, because it will have access to at least some information, and the user himself, worried about his privacy, will be able to sleep peacefully.

Security in Safari

Safari has long been considered one of the most secure browsers, focused primarily on ensuring user privacy, rather than making profit for advertisers. After all, if you remember, it was Apple that became the first company that was not afraid to prohibit cross-site tracking and refuse cookies, shaking the economic model that has developed on the Internet.

Safari has a new tracker tracking mechanism
Safari has a new tracker tracking mechanism

In iOS 14, Safari has learned to identify so-called trackers. These are scripts that track user activities in order to study their behavior and create a virtual portrait. Then this data, as you probably understood, is used for advertising. However, Apple decided that users have the right to know who, how, and how carefully monitor them online.

Popular on Gadget Tendency